How To Avoid 'The Three Traps' šŸŖ¤

A lesson that PMMs, marketers and founders need to read

Too many marketers, product marketers and founders fail at market orientation because they get wrapped up in one of the traps that we set for ourselves:

šŸŖ¤ The feature trap

šŸŖ¤ The competitor trap

šŸŖ¤ The nasal-gazing trap

You know these traps because you navigate them every day. The PM team is pushing the conveyor belt of feature releases at you at a rapid pace; your main competitor just released the revered ā€˜golden featureā€™ or, worse still, slammed the pricing to the floor.

Weā€™re all looking at each other inside the building to see what we need to do to hit our targets.

Suddenly, but unsurprisingly, weā€™re chasing our tails, swimming around in circles in our own goldfish bowl, looking at the world from the inside.

Despite this pitiful truth, it does not have to be this way; there is another way.

Market orientation is one of the most potent perspectives any individual or organisation can have. But many fail to do it because:

  1. They think it takes too much time

  2. They canā€™t see how it connects directly to revenue

  3. We want to start selling immediately

  4. Pressure for immediate results

At best, these are pathways to inefficient positioning and, worse, a broken business.

Below The Waterline is brought to you by Lettuce

I'm always looking for new ways to help independent marketers simplify their lives so you can focus on what you love to do - work with your clients. Thatā€™s why I'm excited to share an exclusive offer from my friends at Lettuce for US-based readers of my newsletter.

If youā€™re one of the first 1,000 solopreneurs to sign up for Lettuceā€™s free business assessment program, youā€™ll get:

  1. A free 2023 tax return, completed and filed, and 

  2. A free business assessment that helps you understand:

    • How to set your business up

    • Tax deduction and healthcare expense strategies you might be missing

    • How to get started with retirement planning as a solopreneur

Sign up by March 31st to qualify and make 2024 your most profitable year yet!

šŸ‘Øā€šŸŽ“Quick case study šŸ‘©ā€šŸŽ“

I recently needed to launch a market orientation push for a category I needed to learn about. A use case that many PMMs and founders find themselves in when starting out in a new category. Youā€™ve been there, right?

The category was book publishing. I just released my own book šŸŽ‰, I needed to orient myself to answer questions such as:

  • What is the total addressable size of the market?

  • What are the subcategories and sizes in the market (relative to my book)?

  • Whatā€™s the seasonal curve by sub-category?

  • Whatā€™s the average selling price by format or sub-category?

  • What does the distribution channel look like by market?

  • What is the format split, and are there any differences by market?

  • How are books promoted, and whatā€™s effective in my category?

As a first-time author of a book, I had no clue.

But as a long-in-the-tooth senior marketer, I had a competitive advantageā€¦.I knew where to start so I could begin to make informed decisions.

Good enough insights do not need to cost a fortune or take forever. In this case, I took a two-fold approach to my research, and I am going to show you how you can do it too.

Primary Research

Using YouGov's self-serve insight tool, I selected participants from the general population in the UK and USA to gather information on their book preferences, format usage, and purchasing habits. In a separate exercise, I also tested my book copy and naming.

  • Cost Ā£800 for two rounds šŸ’·

  • Turnaround time was two days šŸ—“ļø

  • Two hours documenting the data and conclusions in Excel and Keynote ā°

Secondary Research

I harvested data from Nielsen's annual Books and Consumers 2022 event in London, where they provided category data, channel and buying trends over three years. I also requested custom seasonal data from Nielsen, which I received in an editable format the following day.

  • Cost Ā£300 for the event, Ā£800 for the sales report šŸ’·

  • Turnaround time was half a day each šŸ—“ļø

  • Two hours documenting the data and conclusions in Excel ā°

Outcome

I got all the market context data I needed to make all my data-driven decisions.

You can do market-orientation research for less that $2500

There is no excuse not to be market-oriented. They say a little knowledge is dangerous; be humble and admit you know nothing, then chase it down.

Start outside the building, not inside the goldfish bowl.

In the use case I have summarised, I spent Ā£1,900 ($2,300) and got primary and secondary insights. A large part of it is the same insights the big publishers get from the same source.

It took a total of three work days (over time). Business and GTM planning for my first book was in good shape.

Where To Start On Your Own Insight Plan

Being able to design, execute and analyse your own research is a superpower for any marketer. It will also help you avoid some of the traps! šŸŖ¤

Never underestimate the power of secondary research. Often, itā€™s more detailed and thorough than what we can achieve ourselves on a limited budget.

Self-Serve Tools That I Use:

As a side note, tools like Survey Monkey now have large audience panels built in. YouGovā€™s self-serve is cheaper but more limited. Survey Monkey are not cheap, but they're more cost-effective than some of the alternatives.

The guidance below is not exhaustive but is a good place to start:

Types Of Research To Master:

  • Focus groups

  • Customer interviews

  • Basic survey design (sequential questions)

  • Intermediate survey design (branching, forwarding)

  • Advanced survey design (coding)

Research Methods To Master:

Keep on rockin! šŸ¤˜

Harvey.

A Personal Invitation Just For You šŸ¤˜

Thatā€™s a wrap on another edition of Below The Waterline; I hope you are enjoying it so far! Iā€™d love to know your thoughts or if thereā€™s anything youā€™d like me to write about.

Iā€™d like to extend a warm invitation for you to join me live at the PMA Book Club, where weā€™ll be discussing my new award-winning #1 book, Backstage Pass.

Iā€™ll cover many aspects of the book, and unlike most authors, Iā€™ll share how I did some of the marketing, research and more.

It promises to be as entertaining as it is educational! āš”ļø